Soap (Season 3) DVD Review

Nominated for 17 Emmys, Soap is a cult classic among the sitcom elite. Set against the backdrop suburban Connecticut, the series focuses on the lives of two sisters: Jessica Tate (Katherine Helmond), a wealthy yet ditsy elitist, and Mary Campbell (Cathryn Damon), a housewife in a more traditional working class nuclear family. But regardless of social station, neither woman can escape the intrigue and scandal surrounding a their typical soap opera families. The series features a star-studded cast that include Richard Mulligan, Billy Crystal, and Robert Guillaume, among others. In fact, Guillaume established his successful sitcom Benson, which was a spin-off of the Soap series…

The Soap (Season 3) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere in which Burt awakens in the hull of a spaceship. Eunice asks Dutch to strike a deal with the feds, and Benson organizes a posse to rescue Billy from the Sunnies while an alien clone of Burt takes the real Burt’s place… Other notable episodes from Season 3 include Episode 52 in which the real Burt and his alien clone finally confront one another, and Episode 69 in which, with a guilty Chester by her bedside, Jessica dies, all while Jodie gives an impassioned courtroom defense of his right to be an openly gay single parent…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Soap (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 48 (Episode 48) Air Date: 09-13-1979
Episode 49 (Episode 49) Air Date: 09-20-1979
Episode 50 (Episode 50) Air Date: 09-27-1979
Episode 51 (Episode 51) Air Date: 10-04-1979
Episode 52 (Episode 52) Air Date: 10-11-1979
Episode 53 (Episode 53) Air Date: 11-01-1979
Episode 54 (Episode 54) Air Date: 11-08-1979
Episode 55 (Episode 55) Air Date: 11-22-1979
Episode 56 (Episode 56) Air Date: 12-06-1979
Episode 57 (Episode 57) Air Date: 12-13-1979
Episode 58 (Episode 58) Air Date: 12-27-1979
Episode 59 (Episode 59) Air Date: 01-03-1980
Episode 60 (Episode 60) Air Date: 01-10-1980
Episode 61 (Episode 61) Air Date: 01-17-1980
Episode 62 (Episode 62) Air Date: 01-24-1980
Episode 63 (Episode 63) Air Date: 01-31-1980
Episode 64 (Episode 64) Air Date: 02-07-1980
Episode 65 (Episode 65) Air Date: 02-28-1980
Episode 66 (Episode 66) Air Date: 03-06-1980
Episode 67 (Episode 67) Air Date: 03-13-1980
Episode 68 (Episode 68) Air Date: 03-20-1980
Episode 69 (Episode 69) Air Date: 03-27-1980

You May Also Like