Sanford And Son (Season 4) DVD Review

Nominated for 7 Emmys and 6 Golden Glboes, including Outstanding Comedy Series, Sanford And Son remained one of the top ten rated TV shows every season it aired with the exception of its final season (when it ranked a respectable 27th). Fred loves to hurl sarcastic comments at his sister-in-law Esther, and he often makes stereotypical and prejudice remarks toward Lamont’s friend Julio. Manipulating his otherwise ambitious son into staying around to run the junk shop, Fred spends days hanging around the house (he runs a home-based business) and talking with various friends: Melvin, Grady, and Bubba…

The Sanford And Son (Season 4) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere “The Surprise Party” in which Fred returns home following an extended stay in St. Louis (i.e. contract negotiations with the network). Everyone plans a surprise party for Fred, but the celebration goes awry when Fred and Esther pick up where they left off (with their constant fighting). Meanwhile, when Fred eavesdrops on Lamont and Grady, the situation only gets worse… Other notable episodes from Season 4 include “Going Out of Business” in which an accounting error leads to Fred and Lamont owing the government more money than they have, and “The Stand-In” in which Fred and Lamont are forced to stand-in for Fred’s musician friend Bowlegs when a member of his band gets injured…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Sanford And Son (Season 4) DVD:

Episode 63 (The Surprise Party) Air Date: 09-13-1974
Episode 64 (Matchmaker, Matchmaker) Air Date: 09-20-1974
Episode 65 (Ol’ Brown Eyes) Air Date: 09-27-1974
Episode 66 (Grady and His Lady) Air Date: 10-04-1974
Episode 67 (There’ll Be Some Changes Made) Air Date: 10-11-1974
Episode 68 (Going Out of Business) Air Date: 10-18-1974
Episode 69 (Home Sweet Home) Air Date: 10-25-1974
Episode 70 (My Kingdom for a Horse) Air Date: 11-01-1974
Episode 71 (Sanford and Niece) Air Date: 11-08-1974
Episode 72 (Julio and Sister and Nephew) Air Date: 11-15-1974
Episode 73 (Fred’s Treasure Garden) Air Date: 11-29-1974
Episode 74 (Tower Power) Air Date: 12-06-1974
Episode 75 (A Little Extra Security) Air Date: 12-13-1974
Episode 76 (The Merger) Air Date: 12-20-1974
Episode 77 (Once a Thief) Air Date: 12-27-1974
Episode 78 (The Stand-In) Air Date: 01-17-1975
Episode 79 (Strange Bedfellows) Air Date: 01-24-1975
Episode 80 (The Masquerade Party) Air Date: 01-31-1975
Episode 81 (Golden Boy) Air Date: 02-07-1975
Episode 82 (My Brother-In-Law’s Keeper) Air Date: 02-14-1975
Episode 83 (The Headache) Air Date: 02-21-1975
Episode 84 (The Stung) Air Date: 02-28-1975
Episode 85 (The Older Woman) Air Date: 03-07-1975
Episode 86 (The Over-the-Hill Gag) Air Date: 03-14-1975
Episode 87 (The Family Man) Air Date: 04-25-1975

You May Also Like